Be your Own Best Solution


Too often, I find myself working around problems that I should be working out. Today I got tired of it, and decided to actually solve a problem.

It's nice to have clean socks. So why can't I bring myself to keep them clean then?! (Photo credit: 2rinrin.com)

I hate cold weather, and I hate having to wear socks because of it. Although I buy socks that I actually like in hopes that it will encourage me to wear them, often those socks fail to be washed on a regular basis. Eventually laundry collects, I am without clean socks, and instead of doing what is the logical action– clean some clothes– I end up just improvising by wearing the same socks over again. Embarrassing, but true.

I think a lot of us may choose to just put up with problems rather than fix them. We may even complain about it, yet still do nothing to remedy the issue. In order to solve this conundrum, we need to figure out why we are so prone to ignoring and avoiding the implementation of obvious solutions.

I think that there are three reasons that we choose to allow problems to exist that could easily be fixed:

  1. Laziness— I hate laundry, and in particular, I hate cleaning and folding smaller clothing items, like socks. I dislike matching them up. Therefore, instead of bothering with it, I choose to avoid the task out of laziness. Even when I am in need of clean clothes, my own laziness often prevents me from fixing what is a very simple problem.
  2. Fear— Sometimes we deal with a sub-par situation, because we fear change and the uncertainty that may come with it. I may choose to deal with a job that I hate because at least I know what it involves. I may decide to continue living at a place that is too small or is run-down, because I cannot imagine making the move, and the uncertainty makes me give into inaction. I may want to lose weight, but I put it off, because I fear what is involved with the process. Fear can cause us to deal with a less-than-ideal situation, even though it may be illogical to continue doing so.
  3. Perfectionism— In my most popular blog post entitled The Psychology Behind Procrastination and Clutter, I spoke at depth about how my tendency towards perfectionism actually drives me to procrastination. The concept sounds contradictory, but there is a method behind the madness. Because I want to do everything so perfectly, I often put tasks aside until a “better time”– when I have more energy, when I have more time available, when I have more focus, when I have a better house, etc. Basically, the excuses never end. Well, what eventually happens is that you never find the “perfect time,” and instead everything gets out of control, because you have managed to do a whole bunch of procrastinating while you have been waiting for that “perfect time.” Sometimes things have to be done, and you cannot wait, but rather, you just have to get it accomplished to the best of your ability. I recently posted the following quote on the blog Facebook page that sums up this concept: “Striving for excellence motivates you; striving for perfection is demoralizing.” ― Harriet Braiker

Sometimes things don’t get resolved because of one of these listed factors, or sometimes it is a combination of all of these factors. The sooner that you diagnose the cause, the sooner that you can combat it.  

I have always been of the mindset that “God helps those who help themselves.” Some may disagree, but if you are displeased with some aspect of your life, I think that God would expect you to do something positive and proactive about it. Nobody is going to go to your house and offer you a job, or clean your house, or make difficult life choices for you– you must do it. And recognizing that you can do it is empowering, encouraging, and motivating.

For me, as silly as it is, realizing that the hampers full of laundry do not hold me hostage, but rather that I have the power and ability to clean them all, and be done with looking at them is an empowering feeling. We have the power and capability to clear our house of clutter, to look for a new job, or to stop being a victim to others. Now, we may have to fight laziness, fear, or our own skewed sense of perfectionism in order to accomplish it, but just recognizing that it is indeed possible is a major step in the right direction.

So that is where I am at– in the process of cleaning my long overdue laundry, and guess what, I have some clean socks on my feet. My husband also asked where I got the shirt that I am wearing from, and I had to sheepishly tell him that I had it, but I had just cleaned it after it was stuck in the laundry pile for a while.

Instead of working around problems that we have the power in our hands to resolve, we need to work them out once and for all. Though there are many things in life that we cannot change, it is foolish to avoid changing things that we have the power over. We need to stop being a victim of our circumstances, especially those of which are easily modified.

If you would be embarrassed to have to explain to someone else as to why you have not fixed something that is easily resolved, you know that it is time to take action. Stop being a victim, and start claiming victory, because you are your own best solution.

And, with that, I am going to get off of my soapbox and get back to my laundry. 😉

I guess there is a reason that the "Serenity Prayer" is one of the most popular...

About JLLopez1006

*Creator, writer, and designer of Live Simply, Live Thrifty, Live Savvy blog *Contributing Blogger for FreeShipping.com blog *Financial Fitness Trainer (Contributing Writer) for Debt.com blog *Primary Contributing Blogger for the IdeasForWomen.com Money, Investing, and Finance Blog *Contributing Blogger for the DiscoverCorrections.com Blog
This entry was posted in Motivation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Be your Own Best Solution

  1. Fenny says:

    oh Jenn, I feel you concerning laundry – I hate the hanging up of all those small nick-nacks and hate putting them away. Even to the extent that I have had times where the laundry was done and sitting in my washer for too long, so I had to wash it again! At least I hang it up now, victory!, and the small things? I throw them in a basket and don’t fold them. Yes, I have to look for matching socks, but that is ok with me. I will just not match or, even worse, fold them beforehand 🙂

    • jllopez1006 says:

      Fenny,

      Well, thanks so much for making me feel better. And I am thankful for the Internet, because, if not for that, I probably would not know that other people have to re-wash their laundry. Apparently it is more common than I could have ever imagined.

      In the spirit of full disclosure, many of the socks and other items are still in the laundry basket, though at least clean now (strangely enough, I have washed and put away many loads in between). That is my next struggle to work on– once they are clean, getting them into the drawers where they belong.

      Such a funny topic. Enjoy your weekend! 🙂

  2. Lynn says:

    Wow I just read about my life have you been spying on me???? LOL I have so much laundry to do right now that you have made me feel guilty and I’m going to start doing it right after this…ha ha, and to Fenny I know what your saying about leaving wash in the washer to long…..pew pew!!!! LOL

    • jllopez1006 says:

      Lynn,

      Well, I did not mean to make you feel bad, but I cannot help but feel bad about my laundry, even though I have been a lot more diligent as of late. I have been slowly chipping away at it. I just don’t get it, because it just keeps on collecting. 😉

      I just put in some delicates that have been hanging around for much too long. I have been making progress, but my neighbors make me feel bad, because I hear their laundry going day and night– maybe that is what it takes to keep up!

      Glad to know that I am not the only laundry slacker, though. I kid you not that we have moved so many times, and I have to scoop up laundry and just throw it into bags, so I have bags in the garage from years ago! My husband keeps telling me to throw them away. Obviously I am not missing them– LOL. 😉 I did clean one recently and donated all the too-small kids clothes. That is my end goal– to get those clean after all of the normal ones. Glad that I could spur your onto laundry greatness!

      Enjoy your weekend.

Start a Conversation-- Let Me Know What YOU Think:

